Home » Sports » Boxing » Elorde awards tonight

Elorde awards tonight

The boxing heroes of the past – from 2015 to the early years of the post-war era – will receive the highest distinction in pro boxing tonight in the 16th Gabriel “Flash” Elorde Memorial Awards and Banquet of Champions at the Sofitel Hotel Grand Ballroom.

Champions of 2015, led by world light flyweight champions Rey Loreto and Randy Petalcorin, will be conferred the Boxer of the Year awards while five-division titleholder Nonito Donaire and fellow world champion Donnie Nietes will have a permanent place in the elite circle of all-time boxing heroes in the “casting of the fists”, a major highlight in this year’s awards rites.

They will be joined by retired champions Gerry Penalosa (WBO bantamweight), Rolando Navarette (WBC super featherweight), Rene Barrientos (WBC super featherweight), Erbito Salavarria (WBC flyweight) and Ronnie Magramo (WBF minimum weight).

Eight-division champion Manny Pacquiao will not join this year’s first batch in the “casting of the fists” as he is currently training in the US for his upcoming bout with Timothy Bradley.

Laura Elorde, wife of the boxing legend, will lead the Elorde clan in conferring the highest honors in professional boxing.

The event is presented by Johnny Elorde Management International in cooperation with PCSO, COBRA, Hapee Toothpaste, Contour Rehabilitation & Wellness, Southpaw Bar & Grill, Sofitel Hotel, Cast & Frame and the Elorde Sports Center.