Home » News » Main » Erap wins tight Manila contest

Erap wins tight Manila contest

Joseph Estrada won a fresh term as Manila mayor after edging former mayor Alfredo Lim by less than 3,000 votes.

Estrada received 283,149 votes while Lim garnered 280,464 for a difference of 2,685 votes.

Rep. Amado Bagatsing was a far third with 167,829 votes.

Estrada was finally proclaimed 17 hours after the start of the canvassing. He was accompanied by children Jake, Jerika and JV Ejercito.

Estrada’s runningmate, Honey Lacuna, also won, beating Ali Atienza. Lacuna got 268,969 while Ali tallied 221,037 votes.

Benjamin Asilo, the third candidate, received 137,388 votes.

Bagatsing’s daughter, Crystal, won a seat in Congress, representing the fifth district.

The other winning congressional bets are Manny Lopez, first district; Carlo Lopez, second district; Yul Servo Nieto, third district; Edward Maceda, fourth district; and Sandy Ocampo, sixth district.

The family of Vice President Jejomar Binay again took hold of Makati City after his daughter, Congresswoman Abby Binay was proclaimed as the city’s new mayor early Tuesday morning.

The younger Binay had 153,487 votes, while incumbent Mayor Kid Peña had 137,803.

Binay’s running mate, Monique Lagdameo, also won as vice mayor, with 166,450 votes.

Binay’s husband, Luis Campos, is also leading the congressional race with 74,205 votes, set to replace his wife as the representative of the second district of Makati.

Abby Binay ran for mayor after the Office of the Ombudsman ordered the dismissal from service of her brother, former Mayor Jejomar Erwin “Junjun” Binay Jr. in October 2015, for “grave misconduct and dishonesty” over the allegedly overpriced Makati parking building project.

Meanwhile, Jhong Hilario topped the council race for the city’s first district with 80,135 votes, while Rico J. Puno came in third with 65,255 votes.

Caloocan Mayor Oscar Malapitan won a fresh term after beating Rep. Enrico “Recom” Echiverri.

Malapitan was proclaimed yesterday after garnering 302,867 votes as opposed to Echiverri’s 172,278.

Echiverri served as mayor of Caloocan City from 2004 to 2013
Macario “Maca” Asistio, Malapitan’s running mate, won as vice mayor, defeating closest rival, Ato Oliva.

Asistio got 333,971 votes while Oliva only had 91,190 votes.

Edgar “Egay” Erice was reelected as the second district’s representative while Along Malapitan was elected congressman of the first district.

Menchie Abalos will succeed husband and outgoing Mayor Benhur Abalos after winning a lopsided battle.

The wife of the outgoing Rep. Neptali Gonzales II, Queenie Gonzales, also won a congressional seat.

Anthony Suva was elected vice mayor.

Mayor Guia Gomez won as mayor beating Francis Zamora.

Janella Ejercito, daughter of detained Sen. Jinggoy Ejercito Estrada, won as vice mayor.

Ronny Zamora, on the other hand, will remain as the city’s sole representative.
(Jenny Manongdo, Jel Santos, Betheena Kae Unite and ABS-CBN News)