Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Featured » PH stars who won and lost in 2016 elections

PH stars who won and lost in 2016 elections

richard gomez

It pays to be a celebrity in the Philippines, especially during national elections. But some of them are not lucky enough to bring star power and secure a spot in the political arena. Here’s how some of the local personalities fare in the national elections held last May 9.

Actor Richard Gomez, 50, was proclaimed mayor of Ormoc City in Leyte while his wife Lucy Torres-Gomez won as congresswoman of 4th District of Leyte.

Kristina Gonzales-Romualdez was named new mayor of Tacloban.

Alfred Vargas is running unopposed for Congress under the 5th District of Quezon City.

Vicente “Tito” Sotto, who is seeking reelection for third time, is currently in the Top 5 of partial and unofficial results for senatorial race.

Herbert Bautista is running unopposed as mayor of Quezon City.

Vilma Santos-Recto leads in the tally for Congress in the 6th District of Batangas.

Boxing champ Manny Pacquiao is in the Top 10 of the partial and unofficial results for senatorial poll.

Model-actor Alfred Vargas is running unopposed for Congress in the 5th District in Quezon City.

Jolo Revilla is ahead for the vice gubernatorial race in Cavite.

Lani Mercado-Revilla leads in mayoral race in Bacoor, Cavite.

Actor Yul Servo is ahead in congressional race under 3rd District of Manila.

Jhong Hilario is top choice for 1st District of Makati City.

Actor-taekwondo champ Monsour del Rosario leads in the race as councilor for 1st District of Makati City.

Singer Roselle Nava leads as councilor in 1st District of Paranaque City.

Mayor Joseph Estrada won over rival Alfredo S. Lim.

How the other stars fare
Isko Moreno ranks No. 16 in the senatorial election.

Edu Manzano positions at No. 21 in the senatorial poll.

Mark Lapid places at No. 19 in the senatorial race.

Alma Moreno is No. 24 in the senatorial race.

Inday Garutay is 10th for councilor in San Juan
Former beauty queen Daisy Reyes currently ranks second in race for mayor in Pateros.

Actor Ronnie Ricketts places second to his rival in Congress race in Muntinlupa.

Singer Rico Puno is third for councilor in 1st District of Makati.

Vandolph, son of Comedy King Dolphy, is fifth in Paranaque City council race.

Jomari Yllana ranks No. 6 for councilor in Paranaque City.

Winners – Richard Gomez, Tito Sotto, Manny Pacquiao, Joseph Estrada, Herbert Bautista, Alfred Vargas, Monsour del Rosario, Daniel Fernando (leading Vice Gov of Bulacan), Lucy Torres

Losers – Alma Moreno, Rey Langit, Edu Manzano, Philip Salvador (vie for Gov of Bulacan), Isko Moreno, Lito Lapid, Jhong Hilario, Yul Servo, Vilma Santos, Daisy Reyes, Jolo Revilla, Lance Raymundo, Vandolf Quizon, Matt Mendoza, Ronnie Ricketts, and Robert.