Home » News » Main » Rody, Marcos lead overseas voting

Rody, Marcos lead overseas voting

Davao City Mayor Rodrigo R. Duterte and Sen. Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. topped the partial and unofficial tally of the overseas absentee voting for president and vice president based on the Commission on Elections-GMA7 mirror server results.

With 21.39 percent of polling precincts overseas tallied, Duterte garnered 98,703 votes (72.5 percent) as of 2:55 p.m. yesterday. He was followed by Manuel “Mar” A. Roxas II of the Liberal Party with 14,235 votes (10.5 percent).

Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago was third with 13,069 votes (9.6 percent) while Sen. Grace Poe was fourth with 7,631 votes (5.6 percent).

Vice President Jejomar C. Binay was fifth with 2,433 votes (1.8 percent) and was followed by the late OFW party-list Rep. Roy C. Seneres who had 37 votes.

Marcos had 57,393 votes (42.2 percent), followed by Sen. Alan Peter S. Cayetano with 45,106 or 33.2 percent.

Camarines Sur Rep. Leni Robredo was third with 26,334 votes (19.4 percent). In fourth was Poe’s running mate, Sen. Francis Joseph G. Escudero who had 5,097 votes (3.8 percent). Senators Antonio F. Trillanes IV and Gregorio B. Honasan II rounded up the rear with 998 (0.7 percent) and 928 (0.7 percent) votes, respectively.

Roxas, Poe, Escudero, Trillanes, and Honasan have conceded.

Independent candidate Richard J. Gordon was the top choice for senators in the OAV with 82,899 votes.

He was followed by Francis N. Pangilinan (76,166); Panfilo M. Lacson (67,676); Sergio Osmeña III (66,465); Franklin M. Drilon (65,871); Ralph G. Recto (65,832); Manny Pacquiao (62,453); Vicente Sotto III (57,912); Juan Miguel Zubiri (52,982); Risa Hontiveros (48,977); Teofisto Guingona III (47,554); and Leila de Lima (45,625).

ACTS-OFW party-list topped the OAV with 12,910.

Meanwhile, Duterte and Marcos also topped the local absentee voting, the Commission on Elections said yesterday.

Comelec Commissioner Rowena Guanzon in a tweet disclosed the unofficial results for local absentee voting.

Duterte got 10,283 votes, followed by Binay with 4,375, Poe with 1,628, Roxas with 1,419, Miriam with 1,253, and Señeres with two.

Marcos had 11,683 votes, followed by Robredo with 2,341, Cayetano with 2,134, Trillianes with 1,588, Escudero with 944, and Honasan with 314.

Guanzon declared the results official yesterday afternoon. “Local absentee voters final already. No change,” she tweeted.

Meanwhile, Marcos yesterday urged his tense supporters to stay calm but vigilant as they await the Comelec to finish counting all the votes.

Marcos and Robredo remain in a tight race for the vice presidency with Robredo presumably leading in the counting.

“’Yung ating mga kasamahan, ’yung ating mga supporter na nanawagang mag-rally sa Facebook, huminahon po kayo.

Magpalamig lang tayo ng ulo,” Marcos appealed in a statement.

Marcos supporters have planned and called, particularly on Facebook, for stage protest rallies to show indignation over the alleged attempts of the administration to rig the results of the May 2016 vice presidential race that have become viral on social media.

His supporters made the call after irregularities in the unofficial quick count of votes were discovered that strengthened belief that the canvassing was being rigged to favor his rival from the administration camp.
(Martin A. Sadongdong, Charina Clarisse L. Echaluce, and Hannah L. Torregoza)