Home » News » Main » Bongbong, Leni still in tight race

Bongbong, Leni still in tight race

It is still mathematically possible for Sen. Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos Jr. to overtake the slim lead being enjoyed by his vice presidential rival and Camarines Sur Rep. Maria Leonor “Leni” G. Robredo.

As of presstime yesterday, Robredo maintained her lead after garnering 13,988,939 votes which was 214,671 higher than the 13,774,268 votes amassed by Marcos based on the unofficial count of the Parish Pastoral Council for Responsible Voting, the citizen’s arm of the Commission of Elections.

PPCRV chairperson Henrietta de Villa said the vice presidential count remains to be a two-way race between Marcos and Robredo owing to the more than a million votes that has yet to be counted even though about 95.85 percent have already been tallied as of yesterday.

“It is still material, I mean to say mathematically anything is possible kasi ang kanilang difference is about 213,000 plus. You must look at places na mayroon pa tayong ineexpect,” said De Villa.

“But comparing the North na bailiwick ni Sen. Bongbong at Bicol area na bailwick ni Leni, parang maraming nang naireport sa bailiwick ni Sen. Bongbong.”

De Villa said there are still expecting transmittals from Robredo’s home province Camarines Sur and Sorsogon though she sounded cautious about the possibility of gaining enough numbers in that area for the lady lawmaker.

“Lima kasi silang galing sa Bicol. Sina (Sen. Alan Peter) Cayetano, (Sen. Gregorio) Honasan, pati si (Sen. Antonio) Trillanes. Aside from the fact na kung sino napupusuan nila, baka tinignan nila kung sino ’yung may chances na magwagi,” said De Villa. “Dahil sa survey parang nag-shoot up si Leni. Baka ’yung mga Bicolano, para siguradong Bicolano ang ma-elect eh baka dun sila pumunta, ’yung may mga chances na manalo.”

Aside from Camarines Sur, the PPCRV is still waiting for transmissions from areas in Mindanao, Lanao del Sur which has 138,884 votes; Maguindanao, with 112,492 votes; Sulu, 97,163 votes; and Surigao del Sur, 122,044 votes.