Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Featured » As always, indies dominate Urian

As always, indies dominate Urian

MOSTLY INDIES – As expected, the Urian nominees this year are mostly independently produced movies, indies they are called. For the past decade or so, indies dominated the Urian Awards. Well, after all, the golden age of indies is here.

Highspeed contributor Mel Caparas is excited that seven of his choices for best pictures are all nominated. In the acting category, 19 of his choices are also nominated. Bullseye, in a manner of speaking.

Best picture nominees: “Taklub,” “Heneral Luna,” “Ari,” “Anino sa Likod ng Buwan,” “Honor Thy Father,” “Imbisibol,” “Da Dog Show,” “Bambanti.”

NORA LEADS – Nora Aunor leads the list of the best actress nominees for “Taklub.” Mel notes that this is her 13th nomination, with seven best actress trophies, and recipient of Actress of the Decade and Natatanging Gawad Urian awards.

Other nominees: Ces Quesada (“Imbisibol”), Anika Dolonius (“Apocalypse Child”), LJ Reyes (“Anino”), Angeli Bayani (“Iisa”), Alessandra de Rossi (“Bambanti”), Jennylyn Mercado (“Walang Forever”), Mercedes Cabral (“Dog Show”).

Best actor: John Lloyd Cruz (“HTF” and “Second Chance”), John Arcilla (“Luna”), Ricky Davao (“Dayang Asu”), Jericho Rosales (“Forever”), Dennis Trillo (“Felix Manalo”), Sid Lucero (“Apocalypse”), Junjun Quintana (“Lemon Water”), Luis Alandy (“Anino”), Francisco Guinto (“Ari” and “My Life with a King”), Lou Velasco (“Dog Show”).

THE MASTER – Recipient of this year’s Natatanging Gawad Urian is The Master, Romy Vitug, cinematographer and photographer.

Past recipients of the lifetime achievement award include Bert Avellena, Gerry de Leon, Anita Linda, Marichu Maceda, Rosa Rosal, Gloria Romero, Ricky Lee, Nida Blanca, Rogelio de la Rosa.

Romy is the cinematographer of such classics as Laurice Guillen’s “Salome,” Celso Ad. Castillo’s “Pagputi ng Uwak, Pag-itim ng Tagak,” Lino Brocka’s “Tatlo, Dalawa, Isa,” Eddie Garcia’s “Atsay,” Romy Suzara’s “Laruang Apoy.”