Home » News » Local » ABS-CBN named Best TV station in 24th KBP Golden Dove awards

ABS-CBN named Best TV station in 24th KBP Golden Dove awards

ABS-CBN won the Best TV Station in the 24th Golden Dove Awards of the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas (KBP), held recently, bringing its total number of Best TV Station awards to seven in the first quarter of 2016. It won a total of 18 trophies, 14 from the TV category and four from the radio category.

Leading the individual winners from ABS-CBN is DZMM anchor Louie Tabing of the popular radio program on agriculture “Sa Kabukiran,” who was honored with the prestigious Ka Doroy Broadcaster of the Year award, which is given to broadcast professionals that have shown “exemplary performance in both their work and personal conduct.” Tabing also joins a prestigious list of the Ka Doroy award winners from ABS-CBN that includes Tina Monzon-Palma (2002), Korina Sanchez (2008), Ces Drilon (2010), Noli de Castro (2011), and Ted Failon (2013).

In the TV category, wildly popular TV drama “On the Wings of Love” bagged the Best Drama Program for TV to lead awardees like the long-running kiddie comedy show “Goin’ Bulilit” (Best Comedy Program), “Wansapanataym” (Best Children’s TV Program), “The Voice Kids” (Best Variety Program), “Home Sweetie Home” (Best Comedy Program), “Matanglawin” (Best Science and Technology Program), “Tapatan ni Tunying” (Best Public Affairs Program for TV in Manila), and “ASAP” (Best Variety Program for TV). TV personalities lead by “Tapatan ni Tunying” anchor Anthony Taberna won Best TV Public Affairs Program Host, while “My Puhunan” host Karen Davila who won Best Public Service Program Host, and actors Coco Martin (Best TV Actor for Drama) and Jodi Sta. Maria (Best TV Actress for Drama).

DZMM Radyo Patrol 630 was also recognized as the Best AM Radio Station, riding on the successes of the station’s various programs such as “SOCO SA DZMM” (Best Radio Public Affairs Program), “Radyo Patrol Alas Dose” (Best Radio News Program), “DYAB Radyo Patrol Balitasa Alas Dose” (Best Newscast for Provincial), “Aksyon Ngayon” (Best Public Service Program), “Sakto” (Best Variety Program), “Maalaala Mo Kaya” (Best Drama Program), and “Kapamilya Konek” (Best Magazine Program).