Home » News » Outgoing senators start to pack up

Outgoing senators start to pack up

A day after the Senate adjourned and concluded its sessions for the 16th Congress, outgoing senators have started moving out of their offices to pave way for the incoming neophyte and returning senators who will take over in the 17th Congress.

Senators who are ending their terms on June 30 are Senators Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos, Jr., Miriam Defensor-Santiago, Manuel “Lito” Lapid, Serge Osmeña, Teofisto “TG” Guingona III, Pia Cayetano, and Juan Ponce-Enrile.

Santiago, who is battling Stage 4 lung cancer, ends her Senate term on a medical leave. She is currently undergoing medical treatment at the Makati Medical Center. She ran for president in the May 2016 elections but lagged behind the polls.

Osmeña and Guingona ran for re-election during the last May 2016 elections but lost in the senatorial race.

Likewise, Marcos, who ran for vice president and was Santiago’s running mate, lost the bid to Liberal Party vice presidential bet Rep. Leni Robredo.

Senators Jose “Jinggoy” Estrada and Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr. are also set to end their term on June 30. Both are still detained at the Philippine National Police (PNP) custodial center, facing plunder charges for allegedly misusing their Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF).

On the other hand, Cayetano will transfer to the House of Representatives after winning a seat as representative of Taguig City, replacing her brother Rep. Lino Cayetano.

Lapid joined the mayoral race in Angeles City, Pampanga during the recent elections but also lost in his bid.

Incoming senators are a mix of neophyte and come-backing senators. New senators include senators-elect Sherwin “Win” Gatchalian, Risa Hontiveros, Leila de Lima, Manny Pacquiao, Joel Villanueva.

Senators Franklin Drilon (incumbent Senate President), Vicente “Tito” Sotto III (incumbent Senate deputy minority leader), Ralph Recto (Senate president pro tempore), Francis “Kiko” Pangilinan, Richard Gordon, Panfilo “Ping” Lacson, Juan Miguel “Migz” Zubiri won a fresh mandate during the last elections. (HANNAH TORREGOZA)