Home » Sports » Raterta tops 21k MBC run

Raterta tops 21k MBC run

Filipino pride prevailed when marathon stalwart Luisa Raterta won the 21-kilometer race for women in this year’s Manila Bay Clean-Up Run, even as the Kenyan trio of Eric Kibiwott Chepsiror, Jackson Chirchir, at Abraham Klimo, dominated the men’s division.

This was the second time the Sta Rosa-Based running coach emerged victorious in the MBC event, after capturing the 42K pennants in previous marathons.

In the 10 km. race, Richard Salano, Reynaldo Villafranca and Gilbert Laido earned gold, silver and bronze medals, respectively, together with Lani Cardona, Marcose Dichoso and Michelle Gilbuena, who triumphed in the women’s division.

Among the 5 km. racers, Mervin Duarte, Christopher Ulboc, Immanuel Camino, Joneza Sustituedo, Catherine Bristol and Celia Rose Jaro emerged winners.

And in the 3 km. run, James Darelle Arcuna, Michael Icao, and Pernille Siason took first, second, and third, along with their counterparts dfemale Jenilyn Taller, Rachelle Ann Beltran, and Mariette Rementilla.

DZRH Operation Tulong and Land Bank jointly won the award for Biggest Delegation, fielding 487 and 449 runners, respectively.

Sofitel Philippine Plaza gave the fun run a novel spin when its 10- strong team for the 5-kilometer race showed up in their service uniforms and emulated the famous “course des garcons” or waiters race popular in European marathons.

The 2016 Manila Bay Clean-Up Run was a project of Manila Broadcasting Company, in cooperation with the cities of Manila and Pasay, with support from Enervon, Petron, M. Lhuillier, Silka Papaya, Tapa King, Shakey’s, 555 Tuna, Kenny Rogers, Maynilad Water and Lizalis.