Home » Sports » Pantino, Arcilla move on to the next round

Pantino, Arcilla move on to the next round

Arthur Pantino and Joseph Arcilla breezed through their respective opening day rivals to move into the next round against the top two seeds in the men’s Open singles of the seventh Olivarez Cup Tennis Championship at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat yesterday.

Pantino overpowered Arc Dolorico, 6-1, 6-2, while Arcilla smothered qualifier Wilmer Sabas, 6-1, 6-1, only to arrange a second round duel with veteran top seed Johnny Arcilla and No. 2 Patrick John Tierro, who both drew opening day byes in the premier event put up by Parañaque Mayor Edwin Olivarez along with Rep. Eric Olivarez and Dr. Pablo Olivarez as part of the family’s long-time commitment to develop the sport and help in the talent-search.

Qualifier Jet Asilo subdued Jun Alcoseba, 6-4, 7-5, to seal a duel with No. 14 Jimmy Tangalin, Raymund Diaz eased out wild card Jacob Martin, 7-6(4), 6-3, to arrange a clash with Western Michigan U’s Eric Olivarez Jr., qualifier Mart Cabahug repulsed Chris Prulla, 4-6, 6-0, 6-2, for a face-off with No. 15 Noel Damian Jr.

“While the veterans remain the favorites, we expect a number of reversals both in the men’s and ladies divisions with a slew of rising stars raring to prove their worth,” said Palawan Pawnshop COO Bobby Castro.

Other opening day winners in the event were Arcie Mano, who held off Rollie Anasta, 6-4, 6-3, qualifier Michael Madrio, who bundled out Francis Alcantara, younger brother of last year’s champion Casey, who opted to play in the doubles with Bryan Otico, 6-1, 6-1, Gee Abacan, who defeated Gerry Manlangit, Jan Godfrey Seno, who thwarted Dave Mosqueda, 6-7(5), 6-1, 7-5;

Joshua Kinaadman, who dominated Wilson Oblea, 6-1, 6-3, Jacob Lagman, who trounced LA Canizares, 6-1, 6-2, Manuel Balce III, who edged Jeremiah Macias III, 6-3, 3-6, 6-0, qualifier Francis Patino, who nipped Roel Capangpanan, 6-4, 4-6, 6-3, Marcen Gonzales, who whipped wild card Gabriel Tiamson, 6-3, 6-2, wild card Cenon Gonzales Jr., who turned back qualifier Jose Pague, 6-7(3), 6-3, 6-1, and Marcus del Rosario, who scored a walkover win over Radharani Reyes.