Home » Sports » Berths to PH team up for grabs in BWC

Berths to PH team up for grabs in BWC

Sixteen top Filipino pintopplers – eight men and eight ladies – will dispute the 2016 Qubica/AMF Bowling World Cup national titles starting at 9:30 a.m. today for the right to represent the Philippines in the international finals in Shanghai, China.

Bidding for the men’s crown at the North EDSA Center in Quezon City are Raoul Miranda, Nicco Olaivar, Merwin Tan, Jay R. Tan, Sammy Say Sy, Paulo Valdez, Alex Ngoi and Kevin Cu, while seeking the ladies’ crown are Liza del Rosario, Lara Posadas, Liza Clutario, Krizziah Tabora, Mades Arles, Rochelle Munsayac, Jo Anne Bonifacio and Myrna Bautista.

Del Rosario closed out her 10-game, second-day performance Wednesday at Paeng’s Midtown Bowl by rolling sizzling games of 268 and 259 to finish with 4257 and pull away from Posadas, who carded 4090.

Clutario came in third with 3866, followed by Tabora (3778), Arles (3726), Munsayac (3655), Bonifacio (3535) and Bautista (3508).

With their scores carried over, the eight quarterfinalists will bowl a one-round robin format and positioning on the eighth game, with every game winner getting 30 points and 15 points each for a tie.

The top three men’s and ladies’ finishers will advance to the best-of-three semifinals and finals. The No. 1 finisher advances to the finals with the two others fighting for the right to challenge for the crown.

All matches will be played from scratch.

The champions will compete in the 2016 BWC international finals set on October 14-23 at Hao’s Bowling Center in Shanghai.

Del Rosario captured last year’s ladies’ plum and saw action in the international finals at Sam’s Town in Las Vegas, Nevada, together with Biboy Rivera.

The men’s and ladies’ runnersup will receive a trophy each and gift certificates of 30,000 and P25,000, respectively, while the third-placers will get a trophy each and P20,000 and P15,000 gift checks.

Four Filipinos – Paeng Nepomuceno, Lita dela Rosa, Bong Coo and Biboy Rivera – had already won the World Cup, but Nepomuceno holds the record of bagging the title four times.