Home » Headlines » Duterte names 39 new gov’t officials

Duterte names 39 new gov’t officials

Another military general has joined the Duterte administration.

President Duterte has retained former Armed Forces chief of staff Emmanuel T. Bautista as undersecretary of the Office of the President, the same post he held in the previous administration.

Bautista, who served as Armed Forces chief from January 2013 to July 2014, is among the 39 government officials newly appointed by the President this month.

In the Aquino government, the retired military general served as executive director of the Cabinet’s security, justice, and peace cluster since August 2014. Bautista, a graduate of the Philippine Military Academy in 1981, had a rank of OP undersecretary.

The President also designated Reynaldo O. Munsayac as new commissioner of the Presidential Commission on Good Government; Marcial Quirico C. Amaro III as Maritime Industry Authority administrator, and Benjamin Perez as chairman of the Dangerous Drugs Board.

Duterte also named Evelyn Laviña, wife of the President’s campaign spokesman and now Deputy Cabinet Secretary Peter Laviña, as undersecretary of the Department of Agriculture.

Also appointed were new Department of Foreign Affairs Undersecretaries Ariel Y. Abadilla, Linglingay F. Lacanlale, Enrique A. Manalo, Manuel Antonio J. Teehankee, and Jesus I. Yabes as well as Department of Interior and Local Government Undersecretaries John Rualo Castriciones, Jesus Villanueva Hinlo Jr., and Emily Ortiz Padilla.

The new DA Undersecretaries are Ariel T. Cayanan, Ranibai Dacula Dilangalen, as well as Assistant Secretaries Hansel O. Didulo, Enrico P. Garzon Jr., Lerey A. Panes, and Francisco M. Villano Jr. (GENALYN D. KABILING)