Home » Entertainment » 9 films shortlisted for PH entry to Oscars

9 films shortlisted for PH entry to Oscars


The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) has announced the nine films from among which a committee will choose the country’s entry to the Oscar Awards in 2017.

Director Edgardo Vinarao, head of the seven-man special committee, announced that the nine films are:

– “Felix Manalo,” directed by Joel Lamangan, produced by Viva Films and starring Dennis Trillo and Bella Padilla

– “Anino sa Likod ng Buwan” (Shadow Behind the Moon), directed by Jun Lana, produced by Octobertrain Films/IdealFirst Company, and starring LJ Reyes, Luis Alandy and Anthony Falcon.

– “Honor Thy Father,” directed by Erik Matti, produced by Reality Entertainment, and starring John Lloyd Cruz, Meryll Soriano, and Tirso Cruz III.

– “Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis” (A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery), directed by Lav Diaz, produced by Ten17 Productions, Epicmedia, Sine Olivia Philippines and PotocolAkanga Film Productions, and starring John Lloyd Cruz and Piolo Pascual.

– “Ma Rosa.” Directed by Brillante Mendoza, produced by Centerstage Productions and starring Jaclyn Jose.

– “Dukot,” directed by Paul Soriano, produced by Ten17Productions and Star Cinema Productions, and starring Enrique Gil, Ricky Davao, Shaina Magdayao and Christopher de Leon.

– “Pamilya Ordinaryo,” directed by Eduardo Roy Jr., produced by Cinemalaya and starring Ronwaldo Martin, Hasmine Killip and Maria Isabel Lopez.

– “Ang Hapis at Himagsik ni Hermano Puli” (The Agony and Fury of Hermano Puli), directed by Gil Portes, produced by Cinemalaya and starring Aljur Abrenica.

– “Tuos” (the Pact), directed by Roderick Cabrido, produced by Cinemalaya and starring Nora Aunor and Barbie Forteza.

The special committee is set to meet on September 14 for initial deliberations. The Philippines has yet to win or even receive a nomination in the best foreign language film category of the Oscars.

Vinarao said that the FAP has been accredited by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) to select the Philippine entry to the best foreign language film category of the Oscar Awards next year.

With Vinarao as chairman, other members of the committee are director Jose Carreon, director Mike Sandejas, actor/scriptwriter Ed Rocha, cinematographer Lee Meily, actors Michael de Mesa and Cherie Gil.

The FAP started to send entries to the Oscars in 2007 when it entered the film “Donsol.” Other films that were submitted to the Oscars were:

2008 – “Ploning” directed by Dante Nico Garcia
2009 – “Ded na si Lolo” directed by Soxie Topacio
2010 – “Noy” directed by Dondon S. Santos
2011 – “Ang Babae sa Septic Tank” directed by Marlon Rivera
2012 – “Bwakaw” directed by Jun Lana
2013 – “Transit” directed by Hannah Espia
2014 – “Norte, Hangganan ng Kasaysayan” directed by Lav Diaz
2015 – “Heneral Luna” directed by Jerrold Tarog

Before the FAP took the task in sending entries to the Oscars, the country had already submitted 17 films. They were:
1956 – “Anak Dalita” directed by National Artist for Film Lamberto Avellana;
1961 – “The Moises Padilla Story” directed by National Artist for Film Gerardo de Leon;
1967 – “Dahil sa Isang Bulaklak” directed by Luis Nepomuceno;
1976 – “Ganito Kami Noon…Paano Kayo Ngayon?” directed by National Artist for Film Eddie Romero;
1984 – “Karnal” directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1985 – “Bayan Ko…Kapit sa Patalim” directed by National Artist for Film Lino Brocka;
1995 – “Inagaw Mo ang Lahat sa Akin” directed by CarlitosSiguion-Reyna;
1996 – “Segurista” directed by Tikoy Aguiluz;
1997 – “Milagros” directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1998 – “Sa Pusod ng Dagat” directed by Marilou Diaz-Abaya;
1999 – “Saranggola” directed by Gil Portes;
2000 – “Anak” directed by Rory B. Quintos;
2001 – “Gatas…Sa Dibdib ng Kaaway” directed by Gil Portes;
2002 – “Mga MuntingTinig” directed by Gil Portes;
2003 – “Dekada ’70” directed by Chito Roño;
2004 – “Crying Ladies” directed by Mark Meily;
2006 – “Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros” directed by AuraeusSolito. (Robert R. Requintina)