Home » Sports » Chess » NCAA chess: Arriba Letran!

NCAA chess: Arriba Letran!

Letran denied San Beda a sweep by coming through with a 4-0 shutout to snatch the juniors crown in the 92nd NCAA chess tournament at the Jose Rizal gym in Mandaluyong City.

Mark Daluz, Melito Ocsan, Eric Yap and Alexis Osena delivered the decisive wins to seal the championship for the Squires, a team mentored by NM Roland Joseph Perez.

Daluz wound up the juniors MVP.

It was a dramatic title conquest for Letran as it had to beat San Beda, 2.5-1.5, to force the deciding finals game.