Home » Sports » Volleyball » It’s wallopin’ time!

It’s wallopin’ time!

Games Today
(Philsports Arena, Pasig City)
12:30 p.m. – 100 Plus vs Air Force (men’s)
4 p.m. – Coast Guard vs Laoag (women’s)
6 p.m. – Air Force vs UST (women’s)

8 teams kick off Reinforced Conference.

Eight teams, including newcomers Bureau of Customs, begin their respective title bids in the import-flavored Shakey’s V-League Season 13 Reinforced Conference which fires off today at the Philsports Arena in Pasig City.

The Bureau of Customs Transformers will be parading a competitive lineup headlined by superstar Alyssa Valdez and Thai imports Kanjana Kuthaisong and Natthanicha Jaisaen.

The squad will see action on Monday against University of the Philippines.

Valdez, who is playing without her former Ateneo teammates for the first time, expressed excitement in the league which has grown over the last 13 years.

“It’s very different, not only for me and my former teammates, but for the whole V-League. We’re hoping na mag-level up ’yung competition especially with the presence of the imports,” said Valdez, who previously saw action with BaliPure in the Open Conference a few months back.

Raising the curtain this conference are Coast Guard against Laoag at 4 p.m., followed by last year’s third-placer Air Force over University of Santo Tomas at 6 p.m.

Both Coast Guard and Laoag, however, will be fielding an all-Filipino lineup with the Laoag Spikers being spearheaded by former MVP Gretchel Soltones, veteran setter Chie Saet, and student-athletes Jessica Galanza, Jorelle Singh and Aiko Urdas.

Air Force, which also doesn’t have a foreign reinforcement, has Jocemer Tapic, Judy Caballejo and Joy Cases even as UST will be parading its same UAAP lineup composed of Pam Lastimosa, EJ Laure, Cherry Rondina, and Ria Meneses.

Also vying for the crown are Pocari Sweat, which will have the same core that won them the Open Conference champion early this year, and BaliPure.

Pocari Sweat has imports Andrea Kacsits and Breanna Lee Mackie along with Michele Gumabao, Fil-Am Iris Tolenada, Myla Pablo and Melissa Gohing.

BaliPure, meanwhile, has former Ateneo players Amy Ahomiro, Bea Tan, Dzi Gervacio, Jem Ferrer, Den-den Lazaro, and imports Kaylee Manns and Katharine Morrell.

Matches will be shown at the ABS-CBN Sports + Action.