Home » Headlines » Expanded coding scheme okayed

Expanded coding scheme okayed

The Metro Manila Council (MMC) has extended the coverage period of the number coding scheme from 7 am – 7 pm to 7 am to – pm and inclusion of 17 more national, circumferential and arterial roads in the metropolis under the no “window hours” policy.

Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) General Manager Tim Orbos said the adjustments will be implemented next week after the Metro Manila mayors have realized the positive effect of the no “window hours” policy for the past three days.

Starting next week, the Unified Vehicular Volume Reduction Program (UVVRP) or Number Coding Scheme will be implemented in the metropolis from 7 am – 7 pm to 7 am to 8 pm.

Meaning, drivers could not traverse roads where number coding scheme is implemented from 13 hours. Motorists found violating the scheme face the issuance of a traffic ticket that carries a P300 fine.

“Several others (mayors) were pushing already for a Metro Manila-wide no window hours policy but they have thought that because it’s Christmas season and it may have adverse effect to e-commerce,” said Orbos after the MMC meeting.

Meanwhile, the Metro Manila mayors also target the expansion of the no “window hours” policy in 17 other major thoroughfares by next week.

Roads to be included in the enforcement of no “window hours” policy are Circumferential Roads: Recto Avenue, President Quirino Qvenue, Araneta Avenue, Carlos P. Garcia Avenue and Radial Roads: Taft Avenue, South Luzon Expressway (SLEX), Shaw Boulevard, Ortigas Avenue, Magsaysay Boulevard, Aurora Boulevard, Quezon Avenue, Commonwealth Avenue, A. Bonifacio Avenue, Rizal Avenue, Del Pan, Marcos Highway, and Mc Arthur Highway.

The MMC, composed of 17 mayors in the metropolis, is the governing body and policy-making body of the MMDA.

“The mayors are supportive of the no window scheme,” said Orbos.

The strict implementation of the no window hours rule started yesterday, Monday.

As of 12 noon, around 50 motorists were apprehended along Edsa.

Based on their observation, Orbos said vehicles travel faster since the strict implementation of the no window hour policy from 10 am to 3 pm. Violators are slapped with traffic violation ticket with P300 penalty.

Covered by the policy are EDSA from Monumento to Roxas Boulevard and vice versa; C5 Road from Commonwealth (including Luzon Flyover going to southbound) to SLEX entry and vice versa; Roxas Boulevard, Alabang-Zapote Road, and the cities of Mandaluyong, Makati and Las Piñas. (Anna Liza Villas-Alavaren)