Home » Sports » Triathlon winners

Triathlon winners

Mervin Rencel Santiago ended two years of futility by topping the overall men’s title in the Anvaya Cove Invitational Triathlon held yesterday at the Anvaya Cove Beach & Nature Club (ACBNC) in Bataan.

Santiago negotiated the 1.5 Km swim – 40 Km bike – 10 Km run course in 2 hours, 33 minutes and 19 seconds to beat out Rene Tayag (2:43:4) and Benjie Zapanta (2:46:29) for the title.

Relying on her superb swim show, Danielle Ifantado topped the distaff side of the event backed by Ayala Land Premier, Globe Telecom, MHECO, Folded & Hung, A.C. Lazaga, Veda Spa, Island Fantasy, Gatorade, Asian Centre for Insulation Philippines, Glyptic Art Enterprise, Globalinens Worldwide, Inc., Powel Chem, Royal Duty Free, Bio-Diesel, Vantage Point Photography, Universal Towel, Olongapo Gas, and Kaakbay sa Kinabukasan Cooperative.

She was followed far behind by Ines Santiago with 3:21:07 and Nylah Bautista who clocked 3:43:36.

Nica Deldio, who graduated from the SuperTriKids (STK) class, made her debut on the Sprint Distance (750 M swim – 20 Km bike – 5 Km run) memorable finishing first place in 1:32:36 followed by Andrea Villanueva with 1:39:58 and Miki Terada with 1:59:11. The Sprint Distance male crown was won by Carlos Selubo followed by Austine Morfe and Paolo Vispo.