Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Featured » NU wins cheerleading tilt

NU wins cheerleading tilt

NU Pep Squad

Clad in futuristic outfits and showing off cutting edge moves, National University rocketed to its fourth straight crown in the UAAP Cheerdance Competitions yesterday fans at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The last to perform among seven entries before a sizable weekend crowd, NU executed almost every twist and turn and toss with utmost precision.

And even when NU didn’t perfect a few routines, it didn’t appear at all that the Bulldogs were in trouble as they recovered just in time before a mere slip could turn into a nasty fall.

“This is the sweetest victory because of what happened last year,” said NU coach Ghika Bernabe, referring to the controversial ending to the 2015 championships when University of the Philippines protested the judging.

The secret to NU’s success was simple.

“I just told the team members to polish their routine and everything will turn out okay.”

“This win was to affirm our victory last year,” said NU team manager Jun Gaw. “Whatever they say about us last year, now we showed that we are the true champions.”

The Bulldogs were so dominating that apart from the top prize of P340,000, they also ruled the three side events:

Over-The-Top-Pyramid (P50,000), Best Toss (P25,000) and Best Group Stunt (P25,000).

Settling for second place worth P200,000 was Far Eastern University, which made heads turn with the Tamaraws’ Broadway theme.

Hawaii-inspired Adamson pulled off a shocker when it took third and the P140,000 paycheck, the best finish for the San Marcelino-based entry since 2001 when it was second.

Host UP backed out from the competition owing to delicate matters relative to last year’s edition when it placed a lowly third behind second-placer UST and NU.

Aside from NU, UST and UP, Far Eastern is the only other team that has won a title, winning in 1998 and in 2009.

UST ruled the first three editions from 1994 until 1996 by parading its Salinggawi Dance Troupe and the Tigers are credited for having the longest winning streak at five from 2002 until 2006.