Home » Sports » La Salle booters crowned

La Salle booters crowned

Sara Castañeda delivered the go-ahead goal near stoppage time as La Salle edged University of Santo Tomas, 3-1, Sunday night to claim the UAAP women’s football crown at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

Castaneda, who last month helped the national women’s team qualify for next year’s Asian Cup, scored in the 87th minute when she sent the ball to the roof of the net to break a 1-all tie.

La Salle goalkeeper Inna Palacios, curiously, struck a late penalty to seal the deal as the Lady Archers, under their fiery veteran mentor Hans Smit, won their first championship since 2010.

The Lady Archers won a thrilling battle that saw them take the lead on Kyra Dimaandal’s opener in the 57th.

But the Tigresses, who reached the final after a 5-4 victory over the Ateneo Lady Eagles in a playoff last Thursday, leveled the count when Hazel Lustan broke past three defenders during a counterattack and scored off Palacios in the 73rd.

Kyla Inquig was named Most Valuable Player to highlight La Salle’s big haul as far as individual awards are concerned.

Palacios bagged the Best Goalkeeper honors, Castaneda was named Best Midfielder, Dimaandal as Best Striker and Regine Metillo being the Best Defender. (JT)