Home » Headlines » 11 village execs convicted for failure to file SALN

11 village execs convicted for failure to file SALN

Eleven Manila barangay officials were convicted by the Metropolitan Trial Court for failure to file their respective Statements of Assets Liabilities and Net Worth for years 2009 to 2011, the Office of the Ombudsman announced yesterday.

Judge Andy De Vera of Branch 28 handed down the guilty verdict against Barangay Chairman Jose Cayanan, Jr., Kagawads Rexon Cortez, Dalmacio DV Salcedo, Leila Pasicolan, Lagrimas Taño, Simplico Cañeda, Jr., Julita Lizardo, Gilda Surio, Sergio Bondoc; Barangay Secretary Salvacion Rotor and SK Chairperson Xazel Yunich Zea Caguioa.

During the trial, all the accused belonging to Barangay 468 of District IV pleaded guilty to the charge of violating the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

The court sentenced them to pay a fine of R1,000 for each count of violation of the law. (Jun Ramirez)