Home » Sports » 3 more teams advance to 3-on-3 finals

3 more teams advance to 3-on-3 finals

Three more teams advanced to the National Finals of the 2017 Ginebra San Miguel 3-on-3 Basketball Tournament by showing the “Ganado sa Buhay” attitude.

Squads from Cavite, Batangas, and Butuan defied the odds and joined the seven others who have earlier made it to the final dance as Ginebra San Miguel continues its search for the best 3×3 basketball unit in the country.

Team Tenorio, bannered by John Cantimbuhan, Jeoffrey Acain, Cliford Castro, and Edward Villadarez, reigned supreme over Team Aguilar to lord the Cavite leg at Patio Medina, Brgy. Poblacion 3, in Silang, Cavite.

The Batangas leg implemented at Padre Garcia in Batangas City, meanwhile, was for Team Aguilar, as the crew of Ponju Mabuyo, Justine Nocete, Jio Aldrin Lopez, and Ronel Africa bested Team Tenorio in the regionals.

Team Aguilar also emerged victorious to represent Butuan City in Brgy. Libertad, as Chuckie Inocencio, Brian Bataluna, Limuel Monton, and Jaime Paray Jr. edged Team Tenorio in the Finals.

Six more slots are up for grabs in the next regional tournaments to complete the 16-team field for the National Finals.

The best 3×3 crew in Quezon Province will be named in Computer Systems Technological College Gym in Brgy. Poblacion 4 in Sariaya on July 22.

Another leg will be held in the Municipality of Calabanga in Camarines Sur, the third-biggest town in the third district, on July 28, where Vice President Leni Robredo will grace the occasion to crown the best team of Bicol.