Home » Entertainment » 20 women vie for Jewel of the Philippines 2017

20 women vie for Jewel of the Philippines 2017

TEACHERS, a financial analyst, engineer, university beauties, models, and a granddaughter of a former Philippine president were among the 20 official candidates who will compete in the 2017 Jewel of the Philippines beauty contest.

This year’s candidates are Jennifer Daguro, member of Isinai ethnic tribe of Nueva Ecija; Maria Gianna Margarita Llanes, granddaughter of former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo; Czarina Totanes, Centro Escolar University student; Andrea Delgado, medicine student; Kristine Somera, graduate of UP-Baguio; Michelle Carcido, business managament graduate; Archelle Joy Medrano, dance choreographer; Kristine Einna Lister, software engineer; Sarah Jireh Asido, teacher; Mary Rose Cajayon, interior decorator; Mary Grace Tautuan, financial adviser; Cyrhill Querejero, student; Kayla Fajardo, student; Gina Faye Belmonte, teacher; Rhejeam Julienne Duran, hotel manager; Karen Grace Atienza, teacher; Ana Rose Tee, student; Kimberly Joy Asetre, student; Geraldine Dorepes, HR officer; and Trixia Anne Flores, student.

Jewel of the Philippines founder and chairman John dela Vega said that the beauty contest is being re-branded this year into a pageant that advocates the promotion of Philippine culture and the arts through education.

The 20 official candidates were presented during presentation held at Madison 101 Hotel on Aurora Blvd. in Quezon City recently. The winners will compete in pageants abroad namely Miss United Continents, Miss Tourism World, Miss ASEAN, and Miss Globe International.

Dubbed the only “cultural pageant” in the country, the contestants shared the Filipino traits, tradition, art form and cultural identity they proudly promote and wish to continue promoting through the Jewel of the Philippines pageant platform.

The grand coronation of Jewel of the Philippines 2017 will be held at the UP GT-Toyota Asian Cultural Center on Katipunan Avenue in Diliman, Quezon City on Oct. 7.