Home » Sports » Basketball » GlobalPort wins PGBL

GlobalPort wins PGBL

GlobalPort Spurs

GlobalPort Spurs

GlobalPort Spurs outclassed the Rain or Shine Tiger Scribes, 80-62, and ruled the 4th Pakitang Basketball League Willie Cabales Cup via a 7-game sweep at the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex on Monday night.

In winning the title, the Spurs (7-0) became the first undefeated titlist and two-time champion of the league among sports scribes backed by the Philippine Sports Commission, the Philippine Basketball Association and the Philippine Sportswriters Association.

Through the hot-shooting of Aldo Aviñante, Paolo Poblador and Jerome Lagunzad of Tempo-Bulletin, Globalport baffled Rain or Shine with a flurry of transition baskets right from the get go to pull away with an early 17-7 lead.

GlobalPort was so determined to win the championship in style it padded its lead to 24 point early in the final canto en route to a clean voyage to the ‘Promised Land’.

Aviñante poured 17 of his 29 points in the opening quarter alone to go along with four rebounds which earned him this year’s Finals Most Valuable Player plum.

Rookie Poblador chipped in 21 points and six assists while the seasoned Lagunzad racked up six markers, eight boards, two steals and three blocks.