Home » Entertainment » Trailer » New era for FAMAS

New era for FAMAS

By Nestor Cuartero

JUST A THOUGHT: “A successful marriage requires falling in love many times, always with the same person.” – Mignon McLaughlin.

Untitled-21 copy

FAMAS UPGRADE: A few new developments are bound to surprise many with the release of the 2018 FAMAS awards’ nominees’ list.

Unlike in previous years, a good number of nominees came from the indie film sector. In the mainstream, Aga Muhlach’s nomination as best supporting actor for his work in “Seven Sundays” may also raise a few eyebrows.

From the same film, Dingdong Dantes is nominated for best actor. It is Aga’s first nomination as best supporting actor ever.

These and other developments are among the innovations in the forthcoming FAMAS Night, scheduled on June 10 at The Theater in Solaire.

ALL OF 66 YEARS: FAMAS (Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences) is celebrating its 66th year, the oldest movie award-giving body in the country.

This time around, the FAMAS is turning a new leaf as it gets support from the Film Development Council of the Philippines with Megavision as production team.

Not only that. The FAMAS has also enlisted award-winning screenwriter Ricky Lee as chair of its board of judges.

Lee and FDCP chair Liza Diño said that they believed the FAMAS is an institution in the local film industry whose reputation and legacy must be preserved.

Lee said he’s quite impressed with the FAMAS’ final list of nominated films and film workers. He also thanked the award-giving body for having given him the opportunity to be able to watch all those fine films.

The FAMAS will hold a Nominees’ Night on May 22.

AND THE NOMINEES ARE: Due to limited space, I’m running here the finalists in the top categories – picture, director, actor, actress. They’re the top achievers in Philippine movies of 2017.

Best Picture: “Ang Larawan,” “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness,” “Birdshot,” “Love You To The Stars And Back,” “Nervous Translation,” “Paki,” “Respeto,” “The Chanters,” “Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right To Kill),” “Yield”

Best Director: Khavn dela Cruz – “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness,” Mikhail Red – “Birdshot,” Thop Nazareno – “Kiko Boksingero,” Antoinette Jadaone – “Love You To The Stars And Back,” Shireen Seño – “Nervous Translation,” Treb Monteras – “Respeto,” Arnel Barbarona – “Tu Pug Imatuy (The Right To Kill),” Victor Delotavo Tagaro / Toshihiko Uriu – “Yield”

Best Actor: Justine Samson – “Balangiga: Howling Wilderness,” Allen Dizon – “Bomba,” Jojit Lorenzo – “Changing Partners,” Noel Comia – “Kiko Boksingero,” Joshua Garcia – “Love You To The Stars And Back,” Timothy Castillo – “Neomanila,” Abra – “Respeto,” Dingdong Dantes – “Seven Sundays,” Nonie Buencamino – “Smaller And Smaller Circles,” Bembol Roco – “What Home Feels Like”

Best Actress: Joana Ampil – “Ang Larawan,” Angeli Bayani – “Bagahe”

Iza Calzado – “Bliss,” Agot Isidro – “Changing Partners,” Nathalie Hart – “Historiographika Errata,” Maja Salvador – “I’m Drunk, I Love You,” Max Eigenmann – “Kulay Lila Ang Gabi Na Binudburan Pa Ng Mga Bituin,” Julia Baretto – “Love You To The Stars And Back,” Dexter Doria – “Paki,” Gloria Diaz – “Si Apple At Si Chedeng”