Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Regional » 36 Barangays in Davao cleared of insurgents

36 Barangays in Davao cleared of insurgents

By Francis T. Wakefield

Another step forward toward the attainment of lasting peace in Davao Region was achieved as 36 insurgency-affected barangays of Davao City and Davao Del Norte have been declared as cleared, peaceful and conflict – resilient communities.

The Area Clearing Validation Board (ACBV) composed of officers from the Army’s 1003rd Infantry Brigade, 10th Infantry Division, Davao City Police Office, Davao Del Norte Provincial Police Office, local government executives and barangay captains from the concerned 36 barangays convened to validate the recommendation of the evaluation board for the clearing of said barangays during the two separate occasions.

The 36 barangays that are now clear from insurgency affectation are, from Davao City: Alambre, Bangkas Heights, Bato, Bayabas, Eden, Marapangi, Mulig, Sirawan and Tagurano of Toril; Riverside and Sirib of Calinan; Carmen, Tawan-tawan and Baguio Proper of Baguio; Bantol, Buda and Marilog Proper of Marilog; and, Angalan, Manambulan, New Carmen and Tagakpan of Tugbok and from Davao Del Norte:Buenavista, Consolacion, Katipunan, Katualan, Kauswagan, Kiotoy, Upper Licanan, Little Panay, Mabunao, Malativas, San Nicholas, San Roque, Sta Cruz, Tagpore and Waterfalls, all of Panabo City.