Home » Sports » Basketball » NCAA » Without reigning MVP, NCAA holds All-Stars

Without reigning MVP, NCAA holds All-Stars




Rivalry takes a backseat today as NCAA stages its own version of All-Stars minus its biggest star in reigning MVP CJ Perez of Lyceum at The Arena in San Juan City.

The 6-foot-2 Perez won’t be around to showcase his MVP-like numbers as the Lyceum management decided to give him a much-needed rest following a helluva of a performance in the first round.

Skills Challenge, Shooting Stars, 3-point Shootout and Slam Dunk competitions will serve as appetizers to the 4 p.m. clash between the Saints and the Heroes in match where San Beda and Letran stars will be playing for one team.

San Beda’s Robert Bolick and Letran’s Bong Quinto banner the Saints along with College of St. Benilde’s Luigi Velasco, Edward Dixon and JJ Domingo; Letran’s JP Calvo and Christian Fajarito; San Beda’s Javee Mocon and Radge Tongco; San Sebastian’s Michael Calisaan, Allyn Bulanadi and Alvin Capobres; and University of Perpetual Help’s Jielo Razon, AJ Coronel and Kim Aurin.

San Beda’s Boyet Fernandez will calls the shots for the Saints.

Without Perez, twin brothers JV and JC Marcelino, also of Lyceum, and Arellano’s Levi Dela Cruz headline the Heroes along with Arellano’s Ian Alban and Michael Canete; Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Jerome Garcia, Enjerico Diego and Jesse Bautista; Mapua’s Warren Bonifacio, Lawrence Victoria and Cedric Pelayo; Jose Rizal University’s Jed Mendoza, Karl Bordon and Richard David; and Lyceum’s Kim Aurin.