- News in Photo
LONDON (AP) – Viktor Troicki let the chair umpire – and the rest of the world – know exactly how angry he was about a key call one point from the end of his five-set loss at Wimbledon on Thursday.
There was nothing subtle about the 25th-seeded Troicki’s outburst.
“Worst umpire ever in the world! What are you doing? Did you see the ball?’’ Troicki screamed at chair umpire Damiano Torella.
And the player was just getting started.
Some other choice phrases he lobbed at Torella:
“What are you doing? Tell me!’’
“What are you doing there?! What are you doing there?!’’
It all happened as Troicki’s opponent, Albert Ramos-Vinolas of Spain, served for the match at 5-3 in the final set.
At 30-all, Ramos-Vinolas hit a serve that initially was called out by a linesman behind Troicki. It was not clear, exactly, who changed that ruling, but Torella announced the score was now 40-30, crediting Ramos-Vinolas with an ace and pushing him to match point.
Troicki began shouting, “No! No! No!’’ and went over to retrieve a ball and show it to Torella, saying there was no white chalk left on the yellow fuzz – and, therefore, it had not hit a line.