Home » Sports » FCVBA seeks to rule 60 & above crown

FCVBA seeks to rule 60 & above crown

Games Today
(CKSC gym, Manila)
9 a.m. – Meteor vs KLVBC
10:15 a.m. – Opening Ceremony
11:15 a.m. – FCVBA vs Sarawak (60-above)
12:30 p.m. – Brunei vs Hatyai
1:45 p.m. – Miri Kinsar vs Zaap (60-above)
3 p.m. – FCVBA vs Zaap
4:15 p.m. – FCVBA vs Zaap
5:30 p.m. – ASABA vs Brunei
(YMCA gym)
9 a.m. – KLVBC vs Hatyai
11:45 a.m. – Miri Kinsar vs Sarawak (50-above)
1 p.m. – KLVBC vs Meteor
2:15 p.m. – Brunei vs Hatyai
3:30 p.m. – Miri Kinsar vs Hatyai (40-above)

The Filipino-Chinese Veterans Basketball Association (FCVBA) hopes to produce another first as it tries to add the 65-above championship to its already vast collection of titles when the 25th ASEAN Veterans Basketball Championships start today in two different venues in Manila.

With former Crispa reinforcer Bong dela Cruz and MICAA veteran Zotico Tan ready to provide help to Rain or Shine co-team owner Terry Que and Ironcon Builders big boss Jimi Lim, FCVBA is heavily favored to win the newly-created division.

FCVBA needs only to win three times to become the first champion of the division since there are only three participating teams.

Aside from FCVBA, also seeing action in the 65-above are Kuala Lumpur of Malaysia and Hatyai of Thailand.

“We have been practicing for more than a month so everybody is excited and eager to play,” said Que.

Meantime, the opening ceremony of the annual tournament that has Philippine Airlines, Freego Jeans, Rain or Shine and Ironcon Builders as major sponsors will be held today at the Chiang Kai Shek College.

First to see action is the 60-above team of Eduard Tio, former La Salle star Kenneth Yap, Andrew Ongteco, Noli Banate and Julio Cruz which will go up against Sarawak-Hornbill of Malaysia at 11:15 a.m. at the newly-refurbished Chiang Kai Shek Games.

Tan’s 50-above team that will be backstopped by ex-Letran stalwart Jerry Gonzales, Gerry Tee, Oscar Go, Yuk Chi Ng, Bennet Palad, Lawrence Chongson, Gerry Esplana and Daniel Sy Pascual goes up against former champion Zaap of Thailand.

Bannered by Kenneth Duremdes, Louie Kaw, Braulio Lim and Benny Cheng, the 40-above squad battles Zaap at 4:15 p.m. also at CKSC gym.