Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Featured » Triggerman, Captain Marbel power FCVBA

Triggerman, Captain Marbel power FCVBA

24Allan Caidic copy

Games Today
(CKSC gym, Tondo)
12:45 – FCVBA vs Brunei (60-above)
2 p.m. – FCVBA vs Kuala Lumpur
3:15 p.m. – Kuala Lumpur vs FCVBA (40-above)
(YMCA gym, Binondo)
9 a.m. – Hatyai vs FCVBA (65-above)

Allan Caidic and Kenneth Duremdes showed flashes of brilliance while Lucio “Bong” Tan Jr. delivered significant numbers to help lead Filipino-Chinese Veterans Basketball Association (FCVBA) to a perfect start in the 25th ASEAN Veterans Basketball Tournament Monday at the Chiang Kai Shek College Gym.

Still deadly and agile at 42, Duremdes scattered 15 points as FCVBA demolished Zaap of Thailand, 107-72, in the 40-above division of the annual tournament.

Four other FCVBA players scored in double figures with Arnel Syyap adding 14 while Jack Santiago, Louie Kaw and Benny Cheng combining for 35 points as the team posted the day’s biggest winning margin.

Though surrounded by former PBA stars, Tan still made several highlight moves as he finished with 9 points and five rebounds in the team’s 77-49 rout of Zaap in the 50-above division of the event sponsored by Ironcon Builders, Freego Jeans, Philippine Airlines and Rain or Shine.

The team’s 65-above squad likewise hurdled its first assignment by repulsing Kuala Lumpur, 43-40, yesterday, through the efforts of Zotico Tan, William Lao, Bong dela Cruz, Terry Que, Jimi Lim and Peter Ley.

With dela Cruz, Que and Tan at the helm, FCVBA slowly pulled away, posting a 15-point lead midway in the third before weathering off Kuala Lumpur’s determined comeback as the local squad made it 4-of-4.

Not to be outdone, Caidic buried three triples to match Tan’s output.

Benneth Palad and Gerry Esplana led the team with 10 points each while Alvin Patrimonio recalled his once deadly form to contribute 11 boards and six points.

The host club also triumphed in the 60-above, beating Sarawak of Malaysia, 42-25, thanks to Eduard Tio, Julio Cruz, Kenneth Yap and Joseph Whang.