Home » News » News Roundup » New Roundup » Regional » 3 S. Cotabato mayors in Duterte ‘narco’ list

3 S. Cotabato mayors in Duterte ‘narco’ list

KORONADAL CITY (PNA) – Three local government executives in South Cotabato are included in the list of President Rodrigo Duterte who are into narcopolitics, a provincial official said today.

South Cotabato Gov. Daisy Avance Fuentes did not identify the local mayors believed to be involved in illegal drugs, directly or indirectly.

“I saw the list,” Fuentes said. “I cannot identify them because it is only President Duterte who can,” she added.
When asked how many alleged “narco-politicians” from the province that she saw in the President’s list, Fuentes said “there may be about eight others.”

Fuentes said she noticed a “thick list” containing the alleged names of persons involved in illegal drugs in South Cotabato, many of whom were village officials.

At least 8,000 drug personalities have voluntarily surrendered to police since President Duterte launched his war on drugs.

There are 11 local chief executives in South Cotabato, that included a city mayor and 10 town mayors, and all of them have publicly denied involvement in illegal drugs.

Fuentes did not say if there are provincial board members in the president’s list.

“I have called the attention of Chief Supt. Train, to validate the list from other sources,” Fuentes said, referring to Police Regional Director for Central Mindanao Chief Supt. Cedrick Train.

When Duterte made public the first batch of alleged narco-politicians in August, all the local elected officials, from mayor to provincial officials, have submitted themselves for drug test and all were found negative of illegal drug use.

Also in the list that Fuentes saw included village officials from chairperson to barangay kagawad, police and private individuals.