Home » Sports » Volleyball » Volleyball All-Star Games on today

Volleyball All-Star Games on today

Schedule Today
1:30 p.m. – Fans’ photo-op & autograph signing with the Stars
3 p.m. – Spikers’ Turf
All-Star Game
5 p.m. – Awarding of plaques
5:15 p.m. – Shakey’s V-League All-Star Game
7:15 p.m. – Awarding of plaques

Despite being an exhibition match in nature, the Shakey’s V-League All-Star Game is expected to deliver a competitive punch when the league’s top players clash for charity and the fans today (Sunday, Nov. 20) at the Philsports Arena in Pasig.

Michelle Gumabao and Alyssa Valdez, long time foes in the UAAP, bring their rivalry to another level as they lead their respective teams in the event put up by Shakey’s and the organizing Sports Vision in partnership with ABS-CBN Sports + Action to raise funds for victims of Typhoon Lawin and at the same time give back to the fans for another banner season.

Gametime is at 5:15 p.m.

Fans, meanwhile, get a chance to join their favorite players for fun and games from 1:30 p.m. to 3 p.m. The event will be aired live on ABS-CBN Sports + Action Channel 23 and S+A HD Ch 166 and via streaming on www.sports.abs-cbn.com.

Also on tap is the Spikers’ Turf All-Star at 3 p.m. featuring the aces in the country’s premier men’s volley league.

Gumabao, the former La Salle ace who helped power Pocari Sweat to a sweep of two titles in its maiden season in the league where it all started, links up with Pocari teammates Myla Pablo, Gyzelle Sy and libero Melissa Gohing, Jia Morado of Ateneo, UP’s Diana Carlos, Marianne Buitre and Isa Molde, Cherry Rondina and Ria Meneses of UST, BaliPure’s Amy Ahomiro and Far Eastern University’s Toni Basas for Team Palaban.

On the other hand, Valdez, who led BaliPure after her Ateneo days then moved to Customs in the recent Reinforced Conference, takes charge of Team Puso that also includes Dzi Gervacio and libero Denden Lazaro of BaliPure, Laoag’s Jessica Galanza and Wenneth Eulalio, Air Force’s Jocemer Tapic and Wendy Semana, EJ Laure of UST, Customs’ Fenela Emnas, UP’s Nicole Tiamzon, Remy Palma of FEU and Elaine Kasilag of Pocari.

Pocari’s winning coach Rommel Abella will handle Gumabao and company’s squad along with fellow mentors Jerry Yee of UP and Kungfu Reyes of UST while Laoag coach Nes Pamilar, Air Force’s Jasper Jimenez and Sherwin Meneses of Customs will serve as coaching staff of Valdez’s team.

Meanwhile, the Spikers’ Turf All-Star will feature Team Hataw made up of Open and Reinforced Conference champions Jessie Lopez, Louie Chavez, Reyson Fuentes, Jeffrey Malabanan and Mark Alfafara of Air Force, National U’s Ismail Fauzi and Bryan Bagunas, Cignal’s Edward Ybanez and Vince Mangulabnan, Berlin Paglinawan of Champion Supra, Patrick Rojas of Army and Kheeno Franco of Instituto Estetico Manila. Calling the shots are Vhyl Verayo of Air Force, Dante Alinsunurin of NU and Norman Miguel of Champion Supra.

Team Galaw, on the other hand, will be spearheaded by Ateneo’s Mark Espejo, Ish Polvorosa and Rex Intal.