Home » Entertainment » Beauty-pageant update

Beauty-pageant update

20PO1 Aria Ray Paciencia copy copy

UPDATE – Contributor Mel Caparas updates Highspeed on beauty pageants so far this year.

Mel starts with Sarah Margarette Joson of Manila who was crowned NAITAS Face of Tourism last April 9. She’ll represent the Philippines at the Miss City Tourism 2017 event in China this September.

The runners-up: Alyssa Reyes of Lemery, Batangas and Glayzelle Ramos of Rosario, Batangas.

Roanne Refrea (Miss Tourism World Philippines 2015) is the over-all chairman of the National Association of Independent Travel Agencies of the Philippines (NAITAS).

FOR MARRIED WOMEN – Two Filipinas are vying for world beauty titles for married woman.

Marilou Tolico-Villanueva, 40, mother of four, is joining the 2017 Mrs. Universe to be held Sept. 3 in Durban, South Africa. She was born and raised in Cebu City and now a resident of San Pedro, Laguna.

Reigning Mrs. Universe is Olga Turner of Austria.

Risa Caldoza, dermatologist, is Mrs. International World Charisma of 2017. Finals will be held in Malaysia this November.

Pageant’s motto is BRAVE: Building respect and value everyone and Let’s put an end to bullying.

‘GANDAPULIS 2017’ – Last but not the least is PO1 Aria Ray Paciencia of Police Regional Office 8 (Eastern Visayas) who was crowned as the first Ms. PNP Gandapulis 2017 during coronation night held at the Multi-Purpose Hall, Camp Crame last March 28.

Graduated cum laude and a registered nurse, Paciencia bested 26 other confidently beautiful policewomen from different parts of the country. She hails from Tacloban City and a typhoon Yolanda survivor.

Her court includes: PO1 Liezl L. Abejero (PRO 9) – 1st Runner-up; PO1 Bernie Jane L. Dela Cruz (PRO 3) – 2nd Runner-up; PO1 Nova Em N. Lago (PRO 11) – 3rd Runner-up; PO1 Janice B. Etang (PRO 13) – 4th Runner-up.

There were 21 members of the board of judges, some of them; Ricky Lo, entertainment editor, Philippine Star; Mafae Yunon-Belasco, Miss World 2003 Top 5; Joel Cruz of Aficionado; Robert Requintina, Manila Bulletin/ Tempo correspondent; Chief Supt. Gilbert Cruz; Neil Perez, Mr. International 2014; Chriz Dulagan, Man of the World Philippines 2016; Don McGyver Cochico, Mr. Manhunt Intl. Philippines 2015; Jaime Acosta, Psalmstre Pres.; Jennofer cruz, Pola, Or. Mindoro vice-mayor and former Mrs. Universe-Phils. And TV host Gus Abelgas.