Home » Entertainment » Nora, Jaclyn to attend Asean filmfest

Nora, Jaclyn to attend Asean filmfest

3nora aunor, jackie chan in AIFFA 2015, photo by MELL T. NAVARRO copy

Superstar Nora Aunor and Cannes 2016 Best Actress Jaclyn Jose are confirmed to attend as special guests of the ASEAN International Film Festival and Awards (AIFFA) 2017, to be held in Kuching, Malaysia from May 4-6.

Aunor is invited by the said Malaysian film event to be the special presenter for this year’s AIFFA Lifetime Achievement Award recipient (identity not yet revealed to the media as of press time).

It would be recalled that in 2015, the multi-awarded was also bestowed the same prestigious recognition from AIFFA because of her remarkable achievements and status in the Philippine entertainment scene. That year, Chinese superstar Jackie Chan also received the Asian Inspiration Award.

According to TEMPO’s source, Aunor can’t miss this wonderful opportunity and is honored for the same recognition given to her two years ago.

As we go to press, the Superstar is still deciding between two designer gowns to wear for the glamorous Gala Night.

Likewise, Cannes 2016 Best Actress Jaclyn Jose will attend the said event to be one of the special speakers in a separate activity on May 5 (Friday).

Jose is looking forward to this speaking engagement to give inspiration to her fellow ASEAN actors.

Last year, Jose made history by becoming the first Southeast Asian actress to bag the coveted the elite Best Actress award in Cannes International Film Festival for her performance in Brillante Mendoza’s “Ma’Rosa”.

Meanwhile, the nine Filipino independent films that will represent the country on this 3rd edition of AIFFA are:

“Imbisibol” by Lawrence Fajardo, “Purgatoryo” by Derick Cabrido, “Dagsin” (Gravity) by Atom Magadia, “Paglipay” by Zig Dulay, “Pauwi Na” by Paolo Villaluna, “Laut” and “Area”, both directed by Louie Ignacio, “Dayang Asu” by Bor Ocampo, and “Ned’s Project” by Lem Lorca.

These films will be represented by its various cast and filmmakers.

AIFFA is a film competition by ASEAN countries such as Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar, etc. Malaysian Livan Tajang is the Festival Director.

“Ang Babaeng Humayo” (The Woman Who Left) by Lav Diaz will be the opening film. The awards night will be hosted by Filipino celebrities Marc Nelson and Rovilson Fernandez.

FDCP Chair Liza Diño-Seguerra will also attend as guest speaker on a different program.

AIFFA 2017 can be watched LIVE for three days (May 4-6) on this website – www.aiffa2017.com (MELL T. NAVARRO)