Home » Sports » Puerto Beach Sports today

Puerto Beach Sports today

PUERTO PRINCESA, PALAWAN – Nine teams from six nations will see action in beach water polo event as the 2nd Pilipinas International Beach Sports Festival kicks off today at the Baywalk Park here.

The country has four teams led by defending champion Philippine-Turbo, the Surehots Sportsville, Philippine-Envirotech and Puerto Princesa, the local squad backed by City Mayor Luis Marcaida III.

Also seeing action in the men’s division are teams from China, Guam, Hong Kong, Uzbekistan and USA in this three-day tournament organized by Optimum Sports and backed by AirAsia.

“This is a very good opportunity for us to enter in to this partnership because we want to improve the sports tourism of Puerto Princesa City. We’re excited to host this event, and this is just a start,” said Marcaida.

Philippine-Turbo, which won last year in Anvaya, overhauled its roster as it now include Maui Valdez, Mico Anota, Paolo Serrano and Aljon Salonga – all members of the national team.

However, expected to give them a tough fight is Sureshots, which won the initial Beach Water Polo Championship in 2015 and now has former national team players in Roy Cañete, Tani Gomez, Frazer Alamara, Ricardo Dilap-Dilap and Dale Evangalista.