Home » Sports » Lacuna resets UAAP swimming record

Lacuna resets UAAP swimming record

Ateneo continued its assault with two-time Olympian Jessie Khing Lacuna re-setting his league record in the second day of UAAP swimming competition Friday at the Rizal Memorial Swimming Pool.

Proud winner of three straight MVP award, Lacuna topped the 100-meter butterfly in 55.77 seconds, shattering the old league mark of 55.79 which he registered in 2014.

Lacuna also ruled the 400-meter freestyle event in 4:01.98 for his fourth gold of the competition.

With 221 points, Ateneo, backed by Hapee Toothpaste owner Dr. Cecilio Pedro, padded its lead over La Salle (166) and University of Santo Tomas (89) as the four-day meet reached the halfway mark.

Last year’s women’s Rookie-MVP Chloe Daos added another pair of gold medals, ruling the 400-meter freestyle (4:33.37) and 100-meter butterfly (1:04.60) to banner the Lady Eagles sweep of Day 2 events.

Daos likewise hiked her gold haul to four.

Ateneo collected 248 points way ahead of University of the Philippines (174).

The Eagles’ Aki Cariño emerged victorious in the 200-meter backstroke with 2:11.85, while Miguel Barlisan, Drei Buhain, Brandon Sing and Jethro Chua set a new league record in the 4×100-meter freestyle relay with 3:36.73, breaking the old mark of 3:39.80 the school set in 2016.

La Salle was able to avert a shutout by winning the men’s 50-meter breaststroke courtesy of rookie Jexter Chua in 29.90 seconds.

Other Lady Eagles gold medalists were Courtney Gray in the 200-meter backstroke (2:30.94), rookie Dara Carreon in the 50-meter breaststroke (36.53) and the 4x100m freestyle relay team of Shaye Uy, Kristine Santos, Hannah Castañeda, and Andrea Ngui (4:15.87).