Home » Headlines » 10 Navotas villages return to ECQ

10 Navotas villages return to ECQ

At least 10 barangays in Navotas City will be placed again under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) due to high number of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) cases, the Regional Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging and Infectious Disease (RIATF) told Mayor Toby Tiangco in a letter.

Tiangco said that he received on Thursday Resolution No. 3, which was dated May 20, 2020, ordering the placement under ECQ of the following barangays: North Bay Boulevard South (NBBS) Dagat-dagatan, NBBS Kaunlaran, NBBS Proper, San Jose, NBB North, Sipac Almacen, Daanghari, Tangos North, Tangos South and San Roque.

“[We] will implement [the order in] 10 Barangays starting 5:01 a.m. [of] Saturday, May 23,” he said.

The letter came as RIATF’s response after withholding Tiangco’s original request to place his entire city under ECQ as most of its barangays still fall under critical zone based on the Department of Health (DoH).

As of 6 p.m. of May 21, Navotas has already reported 138 confirmed cases with 24 deaths and 30 recoveries. (Joseph Pedrajas)